Rubber Division, ACS, requests nominations for the 2020 Science & Technology Awards

Rubber Division, ACS, requests nominations for the 2020 Science & Technology Awards

The Rubber Division, ACS, annually honors the best of the best with the most prestigious awards in the industry with its Science & Technology Awards. Winners are honored at a banquet that takes place during the spring technical meeting and each winner gives a presentation in the afternoon technical session following the banquet.

The Science & Technology Awards include:

Charles Goodyear Medal, sponsored by Rubber Division, ACS;

Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award, sponsored by Lion Elastomers;

George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching & Research, sponsored by Cabot Corporation;

Sparks-Thomas Award, sponsored by ExxonMobil;

Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award, sponsored by Renkert Oil, LLC;

Fernley H. Banbury Award, sponsored by Endurica, LLC;

and the new Bioelastomer Award, supported by Versalis Americas, Inc.

The Rubber Division, ACS, has a Science & Technology Awards Committee, chaired by Dr. Maria Ellul of ExxonMobil Chemical Company. It consists of up to 12 members and includes the committee chair, committee vice chair, the Division chair, editor of Rubber Chemistry and Technology, Division executive director, Division science librarian and six Division members who are experts in rubber technology.

Nominations are due to the executive director no later than June 30. The S&T Awards Committee members review all nominations. The committee then meets in August to discuss and select the recommended award winners. This is a lengthy and thorough process whereby nominees’ biographies, publications, patents, awards, published work, nomination letter and support letters are discussed, as well as input from anyone on the committee who is familiar with the nominees’ work. The recommended award winners are then presented to the executive committee for final approval.

For more information or to nominate, visit

Source: Rubber World Magazine

Patrocinadores Parceiros

Newsletter ABTB